Question

PowerSchool Integration - User Locations

• 22 March 2022
  • 8 replies

Userlevel 1
Badge +2

In PowerSchool a user can be associated with multiple buildings as a teacher or as a staff member. We’re trying to figure out how a single location value is selected and sent to IIQ for a given user, particularly a user may be assigned to multiple buildings. What table(s) and field(s) from PowerSchool are used to set the location? Is it possible to select a different table/field or have different options for a staff user than a teacher user?

We have received feedback from users that the building they are under in IIQ is outdated or incorrect. We would like to understand how the incorrect info is getting transferred as opposed to setting corrective overrides.

Just this week I noticed that my own account switched buildings and I have no idea why. As a district IT administrator my own PowerSchool user table account has a homeschoolid of the district ofiice. I also have teachers table records associated with each of the other buildings in the district, some as staff and some as teacher. Additionally, I might also appear in the schoolstaff table if I am scheduled as a teacher.

8 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

Hey @jwalstra 

Currently there you can only have one source of location data. I am working with the dev team to provide me with the table/field from PowerSchool that is used to set the location. I will update you on that piece of information soon. 

Userlevel 7
Badge +14

@jwalstra 
According to the PowerSchool documentation, this is coming from student/school_enrollment/school_id for students

And for staff:  staff/school_affiliations/school_affiliation/school_id 

Userlevel 1
Badge +2